My most memorable treasure hunt experience thanks to UPS (UK)— a.k.a Unreliable Parcel Service

思然 oce
5 min readDec 2, 2022
Photo by Suhash Villuri on Unsplash

Yet it dares to claim itself as “Customer First”…

I have only (passively) used UPS (UK) three times.

And they disappointed me three times.

The first one was pretty uneventful, it was a classic UPS mischief, that is, while you are waiting for your parcel at home, you suddenly receive this email:

What do you mean by you “tried” to deliver your parcel? Did you even try to come to my street?

And in 4 mins, they send me another email saying the parcel is now in a shop waiting for me to collect.

How could this be physically (I mean the law of physic) possible for my parcel to arrive in a shop in just 3 minutes if you are really attempting to deliver it to my home in the first place? I could only picture the staff parked the van outside the shop, sending fail-to-deliver messages to everyone and they dump all the parcels into that shop. This is rubbish.

I am paying for the parcel to be delivered to my place in 48 hours, and now you marked my…

--

--

思然 oce

PhD | Research Psychologist | Psychometrician | Computer Science Teacher | IT Auditor/Consultant | ex-CISA/CISSP | Top Writer in Humor | Work in HK, UK, USA