Day 1: The dead body image stuck in my head

思然 oce
8 min readSep 17, 2022

(Trigger alert: suicide)

<Writing my thought out help me to sort out my chaotic feeling, so below would be like a brain dump instead of something very coherent. I likely will rewrite the whole thing using these as my note later. But knowing myself, it is more likely that I would not. And I think my experience may help someone who has a friend who committed suicide or like me, saw a dead body without expecting one. So I will keep writing this for a bit. >

Day 0: I touched a dead body

I fell asleep at 11.30 ish last night and woke up at 4 a.m this morning.

And I couldn’t sleep at all.

Photo by Megan te Boekhorst on Unsplash

I don’t usually remember pictures. And I have prosopagnosia, that is, I can’t recognise faces. However, now this imagery of seeing K lying dead on her bed is just stuck in my head.

It was paired with an oddly cold sensation — the feeling when my hand touched her body.

This is not the first time I see a dead body. I guess most of us had seen dead bodies at a funeral with mortuary makeup. On top of that, I saw dead bodies in the morgue and patients who passed away on a hospital bed when I was doing a medical experience program in high school.

--

--

思然 oce

PhD | Research Psychologist | Psychometrician | Computer Science Teacher | IT Auditor/Consultant | ex-CISA/CISSP | Top Writer in Humor | Work in HK, UK, USA